Hundreds of thousands of heavily discounted airfares will soon be up for grabs as the federal government foots half the bill to encourage Aussies to holiday domestically in tourist spots struggling without international visitors.

From sunny Cairns — the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and some of Queensland’s most spectacular hikes — south to rural Tasmania’s mix of natural beauty and culinary hedonism, there are 13 regions on offer.

Other destinations covered by the $1.2 billion tourism recovery package include the Whitsundays, the Gold Coast, South Australia’s Kangaroo Island, Uluru and access to Victoria’s Great Ocean Road and the NSW south coast.


Whitehaven Beach, Whitsundays (iStock)

There are expected to be about 46,000 half-price tickets available per week, up to a total of 800,000 cheap airfares.

How do I buy a discounted fight?

According to the government, all you have to do is visit your chosen airline’s website from April 1 to take advantage.

Qantas, Virgin and Jetstar are expected to be the main airlines operating the routes but smaller carriers are also expected to get involved.

To qualify for the discount, the carrier must have already flown that route in the previous two years.

The government warns these may change depending on airline negotiations and demand:

  • Adelaide – Gold Coast
  • Melbourne – Gold Coast
  • Sydney – Gold Coast
  • Canberra – Gold Coast
  • Avalon – Gold Coast

Tropical North Queensland (Queensland)

  • Melbourne – Cairns
  • Sydney – Cairns
  • Darwin – Cairns

Whitsundays and Mackay region (Queensland)

  • Sydney – Proserpine
  • Sydney – Hamilton Island
  • Sunshine Coast (Queensland)
  • Sydney – Maroochydore
  • Melbourne – Maroochydore
  • Adelaide – Maroochydore

Lasseter and Alice Springs (Northern Territory)

  • Adelaide – Alice Springs
  • Sydney – Uluru
  • Brisbane – Alice Springs
  • Melbourne – Alice Springs
  • Perth – Alice Springs
  • Sydney – Alice Springs
  • Brisbane – Uluru
  • Melbourne – Uluru

Launceston, Devonport and Burnie (Tasmania)

  • Melbourne – Launceston
  • Sydney – Launceston
  • Brisbane – Launceston
  • Melbourne – Devonport
  • Melbourne – Burnie

Broome (Western Australia)

  • Darwin – Broome
  • Sydney – Broome
  • Melbourne – Broome
  • Gold Coast – Avalon
  • Sydney – Avalon

Merimbula (New South Wales)

Kangaroo Island (South Australia)

This content first appear on 9news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *